You are not connected. Please login or register

Urban Reign

5 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Urban Reign Empty Urban Reign Wed May 08, 2019 12:19 am

Gregorinho

Gregorinho
A-Rank

I planned on creating this topic a while ago, but as this is one of my favourite games I thought I'd wait until I had more free time to do a bit of a write-up. I'm not an expert by any means, but I'd imagine I've put more hours in to this game than most other action games combined. I played the game religiously in my early teens but didn't have any interest at looking deeper in to combat design and mechanics, so it'll be interesting to see what gets uncovered as I play through the game again. The format for this post will be pretty rough, but hopefully it's still informative.

Namco's Urban Reign is probably best classified as a beat 'em up, although it shares many gameplay similarities with fighting and action titles, making it sit somewhere between the 3 genres. The game received a mixed reception from critics, with most reviewers awarding the a game a very average, middle-of-the-park score. The game suffered a similar fate to God Hand (the two games released roughly 12 months apart in Europe), gaining a reputation for being too difficult and perceived as unfair. Sadly, Urban Reign didn't go on to gain the cult following that God Hand did, leaving the title unknown to a lot of gamers.

I'll start by introducing the single player modes and glossing over some of the player character's abilities before explaining them more thoroughly in a mechanics overview. This write-up won't be in depth enough to be classed as a guide, although it may provide the foundation for one if I ever decide to expand on it.

Single Player Modes